Skip to main content
site header image

SCC Library Services for Distance Learners: Welcome to the Virtual Holt Library!

Studying off-campus? Holt Library is online for you!

Databases available at SCC

  • Log in to MySCC
  • Choose "Library" tab (top of page)
  • Find and use:
    • NC LIVE databases (84 different databases)
    • WESTLAW (legal reference for lawyers, paralegals)
    • EBSCO databases (18 more databases)

OR use the tabs at the top of this page!

 

No password is required as long as you are logged in to MySCC.

Is E-learning for you?

  • Prospective Students (click the link below to learn more about taking online courses, the programs we offer, and important information for students from outside the area)
  • Current Students (Help with Blackboard or other online tools, download required software, or contact support)
  • Faculty (Help with Blackboard or other instructional tools, or contact support)

About online courses

Being an online student means:

  • Checking your email daily for messages from your instructors and classmates.
  • Informing your instructors immediately if you are experiencing any problems or have questions (if you don't understand something let us know).
  • Loading software required by your instructors.
  • Reading and writing more than a student taking face-to-face courses – having confidence in these skills is important.
  • Scheduling your time wisely (Online courses have WEEKLY deadlines, are NOT self-paced and often require interaction with classmates).
  • Understanding terms like email, discussion boards, Instant Messenger, podcasts, etc.

Welcome to the Virtual Holt Library

The virtual library has resources and help available including:

  • Online Databases containing
    • Newspapers
    • Journals
    • Encyclopedias
    • Full-text books
    • Audio books
    • Streaming video
    • Online articles
    • Print materials
    • ebooks
  • Holt Librarians and staff (Available via phone or email):  828.339.4288 or library@southwesterncc.edu
  • NC Knows librarian (Available via chat): see the "Home" tab in this LibGuide

Study Zones

If you would like to meet with your colleagues on campus, you may schedule a study room:

  • Conference room (seating 20)
  • Instructional room (seating 12)
  • Tutorial/study room (seating 2).

Email, call us, or stop by in person to request a room (first come, first served). 


Picking Up Print materials

Once you have found the print materials you need, contact the Holt library to arrange pick up at:

  • Holt Library
  • Macon Center (at the information desk).
  • Swain Center

Please explore the tabs to get help finding the types of resources you need, and never hesitate to contact us with a question.