- Faculty
- Request Instruction
- Request Research Assistance
- Faculty Resources
- Chronicle of Higher Education
- Request Course Reserves
- Streaming Films for Courses
Service Alert
Would you like a library resource guide (or maybe MORE than one) of your own?
Email us at library@southwesterncc.edu to let us know!
Because these are created by our very own library staff, they are customized for our school and the resources the library and the campus offer.
We can help you offer your students exactly what you want and organize course materials effectively. You can teach right from a Guide! We can embed a link into your online course at your request and put the library directly into your students' hands.
Take a look at some of the existing Guides and get some ideas!
And please use the Faculty & Staff LibGuide. We are always open to suggestions, so if we can make that one better for you, please let us know.
FACULTY: SELECTION AND ORDERING OF LEARNING MATERIALS
Library collection materials are purchased annually from the state's library budget allocation. The main priority of the SCC collection is to support and supplement degree-granting programs of study. Non-degree programs, enrichment courses, and recreational reading are also supported when funds are available.
Faculty members are encouraged to participate with the Library Director in the selection and de-selection of instructional books, magazines, media, and databases for the library collection. Visiting the Library periodically to review existing collection content and condition is recommended.
New materials may be recommended by visiting, emailing, or calling the Library Director. Author, complete title, edition, year, price, and ISBN number will assure that the correct item is identified for purchase.
Collection materials require detailed technical processing and entry into the Library Catalog database. This process consists of multiple steps by several staff members to prepare each item for check-out. Please inform us of items needed in a specific time frame.
FACULTY: LIBRARY RESEARCH INSTRUCTION
Library research instruction is available to all SCC classes, regardless of location or mode of delivery. All SCC students receive basic library instruction through the ACA and ENG 111 classes. Faculty members may request library instruction to focus on basic research skills or to highlight relevant database content that is specialized for course content. Research classes are taught in face-to-face classes by a Librarian who holds the MLS degree from an ALA-accredited Library Science program. The Librarian teaches these classes at Jackson, Macon, and Swain classrooms and online.
The Librarian can customize a class appropriate for your students, with advance notice. Please contact Savannah DeHart at s_dehart@southwesterncc.edu or 828.339.4268 to schedule instruction for your class.
The following activities describe the various levels of instruction:
Basic Services: Library tour and general services, getting a card, overview of catalog and NC LIVE. (30 minutes) ACA 111, 122 & ENG 111 courses.
Research Strategies: Interlibrary loans, specific databases (according to research assignment), and a “hands-on” activity at computer workstation to practice navigating the databases. (30-40 minutes)
Online Library Instruction: Instructors can elect to "turn on" the Library Orientation Course in their Moodle class. Need help, call us at 828-339-4288.
The Holt Library has created an online tutorial for students to cover registration of the library user’s account, how to search for and request print library books using the online ccatalog, and basic search skills for searching library databases and finding relevant scholarly articles and other materials.
TURNING ON THE ONLINE LIBRARY INSTRUCTION COURSE
If you do not see this link listed in your Moodle course, or have trouble activating it, please submit a help ticket (or call) E-learning.
LIBRARY & I.D. CARDS
The SCC photo ID card becomes the Holt Library card when you fill out a simple form. Students and College employees may bring their photo ID card to the Library to register the barcode number as a library account number. This registration is required as a one-time process. Library users are expected to bring their card with them because staff will scan the barcode on the card to begin all library account transactions.
FACULTY BOOK LOANS
No overdue fines are charged to SCC employees.
Notices are sent periodically as courtesy reminders.
Notify Library staff to renew the materials if you need more time.
Books are subject to recall after the initial loan period if another user has requested them.
CHECK-OUT PERIODS for FACULTY
Books . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30 days
Periodicals . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 days
DVDs . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 days
Interlibrary Loans . . . . . . . . Determined by lending library policy
FACULTY RESERVES
To place supplementary instructional materials on the Reserve shelves for student use, please contact Library staff at least 1 week prior to the assignment date.
Reserves are shelved by the course name.
Faculty-owned items (uncataloged) may be placed on Reserve for In-Library-Only use.
Library-owned materials can be In-Library-Only or checked out for a standard checkout duration. These materials are typically removed from Reserve at the end of the semester.
Please bring Reserve materials to the Information Desk, and supply us with the following information:
Name, Phone #, Email
Department & Course #
Item title & Author, Edition or Issue/Volume
COPYRIGHT LAWS AND FACULTY RESERVES
Fair Use Law limits the use of photocopied materials to one semester per instructor, per course.
The Holt Library adheres to the American Library Association (ALA) standards for sharing copyrighted material through paper-based reserves.
The amount of material should be reasonable in relation to the total amount of material assigned for one term of a course, taking into account the nature of the course, its subject matter and level. See 17 U.S.C. § 107(1) and (3).
The number of copies should be reasonable in light of the number of students enrolled, the difficulty and timing of assignments, and the number of other courses which may assign the same materials. See 17 U.S.C. § 107(1) and (3).
The material should contain a notice of copyright. See 17 U.S.C. § 401.
The effect of photocopying the material should not be detrimental to the market for the work. In general, the library should own at least one copy of the work. See 17 U.S.C. § 107(4).
INSTRUCTION / CONFERENCE / STUDY & TUTORIAL ROOMS
Study rooms are available to students and faculty on a first-come, first-served basis, up to a week in advance.
Contact library staff in person or call 828-339-4288 to reserve study rooms.
Instruction/Conference Room #112 seats up to 24 (white board, projector, computer). Library Instruction reservations and college administration meetings have priority for reserving this room.
Study Room #119 seats up to 12 (white board, projector, computer). This room is ideal for small group work.
Study Room #120 seats 1 or 2 (computer & large screen, DVD/VHS player). This room is ideal for SCC tutoring.
Lights must stay on in study rooms, unless a projector is in use.
Click this link to discover all of the advantages Holt Library can offer you.
To reach us:
Stop by and visit!
JUMP TO the Faculty/Staff LibGuide by clicking this link:
