Holt Library: Medical Office Administration: Research

Search Health Management Database

Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Stedman's Medical Dictionary is STEDMAN'S® most technologically advanced and content-rich medical dictionary ever. Stedman's Medical Dictionary is the reliable, essential resource for the health care field, including medical students, physicians, educators, researchers, medical records/coding, and medical language specialists. You can search for the definition of a term, hear it pronounced, see it illustrated, and watch it in motion.
Accounting, Tax, and Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, reference reports, proceedings, and dissertations covering current news and topics...trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues.
Health Information Privacy This link opens in a new window
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPPA) information for consumers and professionals. HIPPA is the US law designed to provide privacy standards to protect patients' medical records and other health information provided to health plans, doctors, hospitals and other health care providers.
American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA) This link opens in a new window
The mission of the American Association of Medical Assistants is to provide the medical assistant professional with education, certification, credential acknowledgment, networking opportunities, scope-of-practice protection, and advocacy for quality patient-centered health care
American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) This link opens in a new window
AHIMA is the premier association of health information management (HIM) professionals worldwide and is the leading authority for "HIM knowledge”. Widely respected for its esteemed credentials and rigorous professional education and training, AHIMA has helped improve health record quality by taking a leadership role in the effective management of health data and information and delivering quality healthcare to the public.

Research databases

Research Database, or Google?

Research databases are more focused than what you can find with an Internet search engine, and include the full text of many magazines, journals, and newspapers that are otherwise only available through paid subscriptions.
Google searches result in popular sources that are not necessarily peer-reviewed or scholarly (ie., not always suitable as a source for research).

What does "peer reviewed" mean?

A peer-reviewed journal is one that uses a system of reviewers who are the professional equals of the principal author of an article or book. Many academic journals utilize the peer review process. Several databases carry peer-reviewed journals and allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed titles.

"Scholarly":

Scholarly sources are written by subject experts for an audience of experts. They are not always peer-reviewed, but they are considered more credible than sources written by non-experts.

Databases provide:

citations
easy ways to save, print, or email items and links
test practice, learning opportunities, and study techniques
hints on items for further study or related topics

Research and how to do it

Research Companion This link opens in a new window
Video tutorial: Learn how to create a research project.

Getting Started

How to write a thesis statement
The thesis statement is the cornerstone of your paper.

How to avoid plagiarism (a guide for students)

How to take good notes in class and in research

The research process

Student guide: persuasion
Learn how to effectively argue your position in speeches, research papers, and debates.

6-step process for writing a research paper
This guide breaks down the process from choosing a topic to conducting research to writing your final paper.

Cite sources: how to
Give credit to the sources you found.

How to create a Works Cited page
Properly compile the list of all of the sources you used in your paper.

Finishing touches

LAC (Learning Assistance Center) at SCC: free tutoring

Online tutoring is provided to every student every semester.

Each SCC student is given 240 minutes of online tutoring per semester. Highly trained and qualified tutors help students to build skills, understand new material, and develop confidence as they pursue educational success.

Log in to your MySCC account. Access and use this free service by clicking on the “Tutoring” button in any Moodle course.

Writing Across the Curriculum at SCC: Student Resources
It’s a fact of life: college students write. No matter what year you graduated from high school, you’ll find that writing in college is a little different than writing in high school.
SCC Style Guide for Writing
The purpose of this style guide is to offer students and faculty members a place to easily access information about writing within an academic setting.