- Faculty
- Request Instruction
- Request Research Assistance
- Faculty Resources
- Chronicle of Higher Education
- Request Course Reserves
- Streaming Films for Courses
Service Alert
SimChart for the Medical Office: Learning the Medical Office Workflow - 2023 Edition by
Get a hands-on introduction to the medical office electronic health record! Learning the Medical Office Workflow, 2023 Edition, provides full access to SimChart® for the Medical Office (SCMO), Elsevier's educational simulated electronic health record (EHR), plus step-by-step instructions to all the medical assisting simulations. You'll become acclimated to these simulations by completing more than 50 hours of practice tasks that address essential ABHES and CAAHEP Medical Assisting educational competencies. This procedure manual uses screenshots and best practices to make it easier for you to work through SCMO tasks and assignments in order to master documentation skills and prepare for externship and practice. Intuitive and realistic learning environment provides students with a safe classroom environment to develop key documentation skills. UNIQUE! 110 interactive assignments are aligned with ABHES, CAAHEP, and applicable CAHIIM competencies, from front office skills to clinical skills to practice management skills -- providing more than 50 hours of documentation practice. Step-by-step instructions and accompanying SCMO screen shots help students break down common tasks and learn to work accurately and efficiently. Hands-on practice makes it easier for students to learn core competencies, with scenarios simulating the real-world administrative duties of the medical assistant. Administrative tasks give students practice managing patient scheduling in a multi-doctor practice, documenting a variety of services, processing insurance claims, posting payments, and much more. Simulation Playground with instructions and screenshots supplements the prebuilt assignments to give students unlimited practice with the material. REVISED! Each task is mapped to the 2022 Medical Assisting CAAHEP accreditation competencies, as well as applicable ABHES and CAHIIM guidelines.
Business Administration for Clinical Trials: Managing Research, Strategy, Finance, Regulation, and Quality by 
CPT: Current Procedural Terminology: Professional Edition, 2021 by 
Fast Facts for the Medical Office Nurse: What You Really Need to Know in a Nutshell by 
Phantom Billing, Fake Prescriptions, and the High Cost of Medicine by 
Medical Law, Ethics, and Bioethics for the Health Professions by
Be prepared for the complexities of healthcare practice today! Meet the legal and ethical challenges you will face as a healthcare professional in ambulatory outpatient and clinical settings. The 8th Edition of this popular text guides you through legal concepts and the law, important ethical issues, and the emerging area of bioethics to prepare you to treat your patients with understanding, sensitivity, and compassion. Often complex concepts are brought to life with vignettes, case studies and other real-world examples of how legal theories, the law, and ethics apply to day-to-day practice in today's rapidly evolving healthcare system. Clearly written and easy to read, it provides the strong ethical and legal foundation that today's healthcare professionals need to better serve their clients. Access more online. Redeem the code inside new, printed texts to gain access to a wealth of resources online, including video case studies and decision-tree activities.
Medical Office Procedures by
Medical Office Procedures (MOP) provides the required background for the responsibilities of the administrative medical assistant. It is a text-workbook that introduces and describes the tasks of a medical office assistant's career; teaches records management, medical communications, and scheduling skills; and describes procedures for preparing patients' charts and bills. Practice management, electronic health records, managerial skills, and finances are also addressed.
Titles in the Home Grown eBook Collection are always available to any library user--with no waiting and no limits. That means there is no need for a holds list, checkout limits, or returns.
For the best experience, NC LIVE recommends accessing the Home Grown eBook Collection using the latest version of Google Chrome or Safari. These browsers are both available as a free download. You can still access the collection in other browsers, but you may encounter technical issues.
Reading a book in your browser is easy, and you don't even need to create an account. Simply select the book you would like to read and click on "Read" from the menu beside the book cover. On your computer, you can turn the pages by clicking on the arrows in the upper right corner. On a touchscreen device, simply swipe to turn the page.
If you have an iPad or an Android tablet, you can download a title to read it offline. The BiblioBoard Library app is available for iPad®, Kindle Fire HD®, Nexus tablets® and Galaxy Tab® (4.0+) mobile devices.
Step 1: Visit the BiblioBoard website using the Home Grown eBook Collection link.
Step 2: Click on the yellow "Tablet" link in the upper-right corner.
Step 3: Create your own user account.
Step 4: Download the appropriate app and login using the account information created in step 3. There are two Bibiloboard apps in the App Store; be sure to select "Biblioboard Library." Where the app asks you to select your library's name, select "none" and log in with the user account you created.
