Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Holt Library

Home

Tina Adams, Library Director

Profile Photo
Tina Adams
Contact:
828.339.4269

Torrie Tatum, Librarian

Profile Photo
Torrie tatum
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
828-339-4268

Shawn Ohtani, Library Assistant

Profile Photo
Shawn Ohtani
he/him/his
Contact:
Holt Library, Rm 125
447 College Dr.,
Sylva NC 28779
828-339-4271

Library Mission & Vision Statement

Mission

​The Holt Library provides an information commons environment with professional services and academic resources to support the total instructional program of the College, including access to physical and digital resource collections, recreational reading, variety of spaces for learning and study, and instruction in the use of academic research sources.

​Vision

​The Holt Library seeks to transform its collections and study spaces into an integral point of student access to information, study spaces, academic support and instruction. 

Collection Development Principles

Holt Library Southwestern Community Collection Development Principles:

The decision to acquire print, media, and digital materials for the library collection will be guided by the following principles:

  1. Relevance to degree-granting curriculum programs of the college
  2. Annual faculty/staff survey of collection development options
  3. Faculty recommendations for specific materials to support assignments
  4. Currency and accuracy of information, including varying points of view
  5. Reputation of author, publisher, and/or producer
  6. Appropriateness of format in support of curriculum needs
  7. Recommendations in professional reviewing sources
  8. Materials support general information needs and lifelong learning

For more on Holt Library's collection development principles see: Procedure 5.02.09.01. 

Collection Development Process:

The Library Director will facilitate and maintain a Library Collection Development Process to guide the selection, purchase and maintenance of print and online library materials that support research and life-long learning and will be purchased with funds provided by the stateFor questions or concerns please contact the Library Director Tina Adams at t_adams@southwesterncc.edu