Skip to Main Content
chat now!

Macon and Swain Campuses

Library services for students on other SCC campuses

Request Research Appointment

Get Research Assistance 

Need help knowing where to start your library research?
  • ask a Librarian for help at the Holt Library desk or
  • contact us to set up a one-on-one appointment. 

Email: library@southwesterncc.edu
Phone: 828.339.4288

How to complete a research paper

Research databases

Research Database, or Google?

  •  Research databases are more focused than what you can find with an Internet search engine, and include the full text of many magazines, journals, and newspapers that are otherwise only available through paid subscriptions.
  • Google searches result in popular sources that are not necessarily peer-reviewed or scholarly (ie., not always  suitable as a source for research). 

What does "peer reviewed" mean?

A peer-reviewed journal is one that uses a system of reviewers who are the professional equals of the principal author of an article or book. Many academic journals utilize the peer review process. Several databases carry peer-reviewed journals and allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed titles.

"Scholarly":

Scholarly sources are written by subject experts for an audience of experts. They are not always peer-reviewed, but they are considered more credible than sources written by non-experts.

 Databases provide:

  • citations
  • easy ways to save, print, or email items and links
  • test practice, learning opportunities, and study techniques
  • hints on items for further study or related topics

 

 

Database access: Macon or Swain Campus via SCC's Holt Library

MACON or SWAIN CAMPUS STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF:

Access NC LIVE and other online library materials any time:

  1. Log in to MySCC
  2. Choose the "Library" tab on the left side of the page
  3. And you're in! Databases are listed under the Research drop down menu: A-Z Databases by Title. You will not need other passwords if you log in first to MySCC!​

 

This internal library page contains:

  • resource guides for classes and topics (we've gathered materials for you!)
  • the library catalog, for books and items in print
  • an A-Z list of all the databases we provide
  • contact info for the library
  • hours of operation
  • 24/7 chat support