Holt Library: Literary Analysis and Criticism: Literary Analysis & Criticism

Literary Analysis (of a short story)

Bloom's Literary Criticism Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of Harold Bloom's literary criticism series including Classic Critical Views, Bloom's Guide, Literary Themes, Modern Critical Interpretation, Modern Critical Views, Shakespeare Through the Ages and How to Write About Literature. Adobe Digital Edition required to download eBooks for offline reading.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews. Designed with schools and public libraries in mind.

Literary Analysis (of a short story) Print Resources

Holt Library also has literary criticism and author biographies in print. Literary criticism in the Reference section starts in the 803s. We also have literary criticism in the 813s in the General collection. In the General collection, the Harold Bloom books contain literary criticism and the Norton Critical Editions contain criticism and the short story.

Here are a few examples:

Gatsby by Harold Bloom (Editor)
Call Number: 813.52 G
ISBN: 0791009580
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Presents critical extracts and essays on the novel's character Jay Gatsby, a self-made man whose love for a wealthy woman led to his tragic death.
William Faulkner's The Sound and the Fury by Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
Call Number: 813.52 W
ISBN: 9781555460426
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Contemporary Literary Criticism by Roger Matuz
Call Number: R 820.4 R v.69
ISBN: 0810344467
Publication Date: 1992-05-22

Argumentative Analysis (of a film)

CQ Researcher
Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
ProQuest Central
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
ProQuest Research Library
General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.