Holt Library: Literary Analysis and Criticism: Literary Analysis & Criticism

Literary Analysis

Most of these databases have author searches and works searches. Sometimes an author's lesser-known work may not have a criticism written about it. You will need to then use your critical thinking skills to read some of their other works and those criticisms and then draw your own conclusions about the work you have chosen. Look at other authors who wrote during the same time period as your chosen author. What was going on in the world during the author's life to influence their writing? These insights can help with your analysis.

Bloom's Literary Criticism Ebook Collection
Collection of Harold Bloom's literary criticism series including Classic Critical Views, Bloom's Guide, Literary Themes, Modern Critical Interpretation, Modern Critical Views, Shakespeare Through the Ages and How to Write About Literature. Adobe Digital Edition required to download eBooks for offline reading.

Bloomsbury Collections
Collection of ebooks covering history and literary criticism including the series Daily Life; Critical Companions; Literature in Context. Also includes a large collection of American slave narratives:.American Slavery: A Composite Autobiog raphy.
Literary Sources (Gale)
Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
JSTOR Custom Community College Ebook Collection
This collection of 595 eBooks includes titles from 19 publishers, mostly major University Presses. Titles are included from many disciplines including Anthropology, Business, Economics, Environmental Science, Finance, History, Literature, Political Science, Religion, Psychology & Sociology.
JSTOR Articles access via State Library of North Carolina Library Card
REQUIRES REGISTERING AND USING A STATE LIBRARY OF NORTH CAROLINA LIBRARY ACCOUNT NUMBER OR AN NC CARDINAL PUBLIC LIBRARY CARD NUMBER. REGISTER HERE.
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students, providing access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
ProQuest Learning: Literature
Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews. Designed with schools and public libraries in mind.
Linguistics Database
Full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by Chris Baldick
Call Number: Online

ISBN: 978019875443

Publication Date: 2015

Provides clear and concise definitions of literary terms from modern critical and theoretical movements as well as traditional drama, versification, rhetoric, and literary history and includes a pronunciation guide to more than 200 terms.
Women in Literature by Jerilyn Fisher (Editor); Ellen Silber (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook

ISBN: 9780313313462

Publication Date: 2003-06-30

This resource offers insights into the female perspective in literature, covering 96 frequently taught works. It includes classics by male authors such as Dickens, Faulkner, and Twain, alongside works by female authors like Kate Chopin and Mary Shelley. Contemporary and globally-focused works by Alice Walker, Margaret Atwood, Sandra Cisneros, and Chinua Achebe are also featured. The essays are written in accessible language to promote awareness of gender-related themes and include classroom discussion suggestions and further study recommendations. The volume is organized alphabetically by title and includes author and subject indexes, as well as an appendix on gender-related themes for curriculum and research applications.

Search Library Resources

OneSearch

Article Databases
Browse a list of hundreds of article databases by title or subject.
E-books Collections
Find E-Book collections by subject.
E-Book & Audiobooks From Dogwood Digital Library
Read & Listen on mobile devices with Libby App.
Off-Campus Access
Access our resources from home. Troubleshooting off-campus issues.

Search the Holt Library Catalog

Request Materials
Request books or articles not owned by Holt Library.
Suggest a Purchase
Use this form to suggest a title for purchase.
Renew Books
Renew books you have checked out.
Search NC Evergreen Libraries
Search and request books from all NC Evergreen Community College Libraries.

Browse Journals
Search for Journals, Magazines and Newspapers by title or subject.
Request Materials
Request books or articles not owned by Holt Library.
Google Scholar Setup
Directions to setup linking to SCC Library articles from Google Scholar
Citation Guides
APA, MLA and Chicago Style Citation help information.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon CC BY-3.0 Attribution License

Search Media Clips in OneSearch

Streaming Films for Faculty
Search thousands of streaming online films and find help resources for using them in your course.
Streaming Videos for Students
A-Z list of library video resources.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon CC BY-3.0 Attribution License

Find background information for a topic by searching CREDO Online Reference Encyclopedia.

Library Account & Book Checkout

SCC student ID card or other proof of identity is required to borrow materials from the library
Obtain your SCC ID card at Orientation or on the Jackson Campus at the Cashier's office, Balsam 170 or at the Cecil Groves Center on the Macon campus. Online and Swain Center students contact Toni Holland at tholland@southwesterncc.edu.
Non-students may register an account and get a library card using this online form
Book checkout period is 4 weeks and students and faculty may renew items one time.
Lost or damaged books will be billed at the cost of replacement and must be paid at the Business Office on the Jackson Campus.
Email us at library@southwesterncc.edu if we can find items for you

Search Worldcat

Catalog of books and other materials in libraries around the world. Find a book you want, Request It.

The Chronicle of higher education

ISSN: 0009-5982

01/06/1988 to 1 month ago in ProQuest Central

01/08/1999 to 1 month ago in MasterFILE Premier

01/06/1988 to 1 month ago in Education Database

01/08/1999 to 1 month ago in Gale Academic OneFile

01/06/1988 to 1 month ago in PQ Research Library

E-Book Downloading- Libby App
Learn to download e-books onto a PC or mobile device.
Google Scholar Setup
Directions to setup linking to SCC Library articles from Google Scholar
Library Video Tutorials
Video tutorials covering research, citing, and finding books & articles.
Citation Guides
APA, MLA and Chicago Style Citation help information.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon CC BY-3.0 Attribution License