Holt Library: Literary Analysis and Criticism: Books

Search Library Resources

OneSearch

Article Databases
Browse a list of hundreds of article databases by title or subject.
E-books Collections
Find E-Book collections by subject.
E-Book Downloading
Learn to download e-books onto a PC or mobile device.
Off-Campus Access
Access our resources from home. Troubleshooting off-campus issues.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon

Search the Holt Library Catalog

Request Materials
Request books or articles not owned by Holt Library.
Suggest a Purchase
Use this form to suggest a title for purchase.
Renew Books
Renew books you have checked out.
Search NC Evergreen Libraries
Search and request books from all NC Evergreen Community College Libraries.

Browse Journals
Search for Journals, Magazines and Newspapers by title or subject.
Request Materials
Request books or articles not owned by Holt Library.
Google Scholar Setup
Directions to setup linking to SCC Library articles from Google Scholar
Citation Guides
APA, MLA and Chicago Style Citation help information.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon

Search Media Clips in OneSearch

Streaming Films for Faculty
Search thousands of streaming online films and find help resources for using them in your course.
Streaming Videos for Students
A-Z list of library video resources.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon

Find background information for a topic by searching CREDO Online Reference Encyclopedia.

Library Account & Book Checkout

SCC student ID card or other proof of identity is required to borrow materials from the library
Obtain your SCC ID card at Orientation or on the Jackson Campus at the Cashier's office, Balsam 170 or at the Cecil Groves Center on the Macon campus. Online and Swain Center students contact Toni Holland at tholland@southwesterncc.edu.
Non-students may register an account and get a library card using this online form
Book checkout period is 4 weeks and students and faculty may renew items one time.
Lost or damaged books will be billed at the cost of replacement and must be paid at the Business Office on the Jackson Campus.
Email us at library@southwesterncc.edu if we can find items for you

Search Worldcat

Catalog of books and other materials in libraries around the world. Find a book you want, Request It.

Definitions

The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by Chris Baldick
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 978019875443
Publication Date: 2015
Provides clear and concise definitions of literary terms from modern critical and theoretical movements as well as traditional drama, versification, rhetoric, and literary history and includes a pronunciation guide to more than 200 terms.
Literary Theory: the Basics by Hans Bertens
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781040039694
Publication Date: 2024-06-01
Literary Theory: The Basics (4th edition) is a clear and accessible introduction to literary theory, covering Marxism, feminism, postmodernism, queer studies, ecocriticism, and more. It explores connections between theory and practice, including postcolonialism, posthumanism, and digital humanities, making it an essential guide for understanding contemporary literary analysis.
Something Speaks to Me : Where Criticism Begins by Michel Chaouli
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780226830438
Publication Date: 2024-02-16
Michel Chaouli’s Something Speaks to Me explores criticism as an instinctive, poetic response to art rather than a scholarly exercise. Examining the urge to share overwhelming experiences, he draws on philosophers and literary theorists to reflect on surprise, delight, and incomprehension, offering a philosophical meditation on the urgency of criticism.
Spectral Evidence by Gregory Pardlo
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781524731793
Publication Date: 2024-01-30
Gregory Pardlo’s Spectral Evidence is a powerful poetry collection exploring Blackness, beauty, faith, and justice. Moving between historical and cultural subjects—Owen Hart, Tituba, and MOVE—it blends intellectual depth with personal reflection. Pardlo examines systemic violence, devotion, and art’s role in shaping memory and history with lyrical intensity.
Writing Backwards : Historical Fiction and the Reshaping of the American Canon by Alexander Manshel
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780231558822
Publication Date: 2023-11-21
Alexander Manshel’s Writing Backwards examines the dominance of historical fiction in contemporary American literature, particularly for writers of color. Analyzing celebrated genres and authors like Toni Morrison, Colson Whitehead, and Viet Thanh Nguyen, he explores how literary institutions shape the canon, highlighting both its inclusivity and ongoing exclusions.