Library Materials Request Form

Suggest an Addition to the Collection:

If you are a student, faculty or staff member at SCC we are happy to accept book and ebook title suggestions to be purchased for the library collection. Recommendations will be considered based on available funds and suitability to the collection with regard to course support. Preference will be given to faculty requests that are intended for course specific use. 

Students, Faculty and Staff may fill out this form to request a title for consideration.  

Holt Library Southwestern Community Collection Development Principles:

The decision to acquire print, media, and digital materials for the library collection will be guided by the following principles:

1. Relevance to degree-granting curriculum programs of the college
2. Annual faculty/staff survey of collection development options
3. Faculty recommendations for specific materials to support assignments
4. Currency and accuracy of information, including varying points of view
5. Reputation of author, publisher, and/or producer
6. Appropriateness of format in support of curriculum needs
7. Recommendations in professional reviewing sources
8. Materials support general information needs and lifelong learning

For more on Holt Library's collection development principles see: Procedure 5.02.09.01. 

Collection Development Process:

The Library Director will facilitate and maintain a Library Collection Development Process to guide the selection, purchase and maintenance of print and online library materials that support research and life-long learning and will be purchased with funds provided by the state. For questions or concerns please contact the Library Director Tina Adams at t_adams@southwesterncc.edu