Holt Library: College Success (ACA 111/ACA 122): Research

Research databases

Research Database, or Google?

Research databases are more focused than what you can find with an Internet search engine, and include the full text of many magazines, journals, and newspapers that are otherwise only available through paid subscriptions.
Google searches result in popular sources that are not necessarily peer-reviewed or scholarly (ie., not always suitable as a source for research).

What does "peer reviewed" mean?

A peer-reviewed journal is one that uses a system of reviewers who are the professional equals of the principal author of an article or book. Many academic journals utilize the peer review process. Several databases carry peer-reviewed journals and allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed titles.

"Scholarly":

Scholarly sources are written by subject experts for an audience of experts. They are not always peer-reviewed, but they are considered more credible than sources written by non-experts.

Databases provide:

citations
easy ways to save, print, or email items and links
test practice, learning opportunities, and study techniques
hints on items for further study or related topics

Peer review explained in 3 minutes

NCSU Libraries: Peer Review in 3 Minutes
How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication?

Persuasive writing

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Credo Reference
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts; presents all sides of important issues, and empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills.
Proquest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.

Research and how to do it

Research Companion This link opens in a new window
Video tutorial: Learn how to create a research project.

Request Research Appointment

Get Research Assistance

Need help knowing where to start your library research?

ask a Librarian for help at the Holt Library desk or
contact us to set up a one-on-one appointment.

Email: library@southwesterncc.edu
Phone: 828.339.4288

College Success (ACA 111/ACA 122)