Holt Library: Computer Engineering Technology: More Help

Request Research Appointment

Get Research Assistance

Need help knowing where to start your library research?

ask a Librarian for help at the Holt Library desk or
contact us to set up a one-on-one appointment.

Email: library@southwesterncc.edu
Phone: 828.339.4288

PrepStep & Board Vitals

PrepSTEP Academic This link opens in a new window
Improve core academic skills, score higher on college placement tests, prepare for occupational exams such as Nursing, Cosmetology, Culinary Arts, Teacher Exam, Electrician, Military, Law Enforcement and more.

Click on PrepSTEP link and choose "College Library" to access PrepSTEP academic test preparation resources. Includes:

College Prep: Basic Skills, AP, HS Equivalency, SAT, STEM Resources, ACT, CLEP, DSST, PSAT, College/Scholarship Search, Resume Writing

Nursing Exams: TEAS, NCLEX-RN, NCLEX-PN and Nurse Aide exam prep.

Career Certifications: (Accounting, ACT WorkKeys, American Foreign Service Officer, Vocational Tech Schools, Clerical, Cosmetology, Firefighter, Law Enforcement, Medical/Nursing, ASVAB/AFOQT, Postal Service, Real Estate, Social Work, Teacher) and Virtual Career Library.

Graduate School: GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, Miller Analogies (MAT), Graduate School/Scholarship Search

International: (TOEFL, TOEIC, US Citizenship)

Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window
Includes online tutorials, test practice, and test study e-books to help you practice core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job or change careers, become a U.S. citizen.

Click on Learning Express link and choose "Public Library" to access Learning Express tools.

Includes: for

College preparation resources

Core academic skills building

High School Equivalency test preparation and practice tests

Resources for building computer skills

Board Vitals This link opens in a new window
Board Vitals is an exam review tool that includes access to test banks to help prepare for the NCLEX RN, NCLEX PN, NBDHE, NBSTSA Surgical Technology Board Exam, Dental Hygiene and ARRT Radiography Board Exam. Registration is free; however, you MUST use your institutional email address (your MySCC login) for registration.

Need Help with Writing?

LAC--Learning Assistance Center
Library employees are here to help you with your research, but if you need help with writing, you may go to the LAC (Learning Assistance Center). You may also get help citing sources within your paper.
Southwestern Community College WAC Style Guide
The purpose of this style guide is to offer students and faculty members a place to easily access information about writing within an academic setting. It is our hope that students and faculty alike use this resource for its ultimate purpose – to support student writing across the curriculum.

Effective oral and written communications skills are necessities for success in all areas of the modern world. Opportunities for advancement in today’s global markets increase significantly for individuals who master the art of clear communication. The successful writer, therefore, must possess skills sufficient to
create informative, insightful analysis;
effectively manipulate language in the compilation of documents such as resumes, portfolios, proposals, reports and letters;
correctly research and document information; and
carefully edit and produce error-free copy.
Common Grammar Issues
You can learn to avoid these common mistakes. Listed below are seven grammar/mechanics/usage mistakes that students often commit in their writing (this is by no means an exhaustive list – it’s simply some of the mistakes that are seen most frequently.). Beside each is the section letter and number for the section of your handbook, A Writer’s Reference, where these issues are addressed.

Career Information

Career Services Home Page
Career Services can help you find jobs, write resumes, and so much more.
Career Coach
Career Services Help
Contact Michael Despeaux for more information.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 201020 decade.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.