Holt Library: Information Technologies: Research

Peer review explained in 3 minutes

NCSU Libraries: Peer Review in 3 Minutes
How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication?

Getting Started

How to write a thesis statement
The thesis statement is the cornerstone of your paper.

How to avoid plagiarism (a guide for students)

How to take good notes in class and in research

The research process

Student guide: persuasion
Learn how to effectively argue your position in speeches, research papers, and debates.

6-step process for writing a research paper
This guide breaks down the process from choosing a topic to conducting research to writing your final paper.

Cite sources: how to
Give credit to the sources you found.

How to create a Works Cited page
Properly compile the list of all of the sources you used in your paper.

Finishing touches

LAC (Learning Assistance Center) at SCC: free tutoring

Online tutoring is provided to every student every semester.

Each SCC student is given 240 minutes of online tutoring per semester. Highly trained and qualified tutors help students to build skills, understand new material, and develop confidence as they pursue educational success.

Log in to your MySCC account. Access and use this free service by clicking on the “Tutoring” button in any Moodle course.

Writing Across the Curriculum at SCC: Student Resources
It’s a fact of life: college students write. No matter what year you graduated from high school, you’ll find that writing in college is a little different than writing in high school.
SCC Style Guide for Writing
The purpose of this style guide is to offer students and faculty members a place to easily access information about writing within an academic setting.

Research and how to do it

Research Companion This link opens in a new window
Video tutorial: Learn how to create a research project.

Search specific databases (click to search)

ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
Accounting, Tax, and Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, reference reports, proceedings, and dissertations covering current news and topics...trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of scholarly journals, trade and industry journals,and more. Covers fields such as aeronautics and aerospace engineering, applied physics, artificial intelligence and robotics, communications and networks, computer applications and computer programming.
Career & Technical Education This link opens in a new window
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.
Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window
Covers topics including computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, radio and television.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to about 1500 journals from a broad multidisciplinary collection of online articles covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. If there is no "unlocked" icon visible on an article, the article/book chapter is not included in our subscription. Contact a Librarian for additional options.