Holt Library: Radiography: Research

Radiography Databases

Applied Radiology This link opens in a new window
An open access journal that includes clinical review articles, radiological cases, technological innovations and trends and industry updates.
Board Vitals This link opens in a new window
Board Vitals is an exam review tool that includes access to test banks to help prepare for the NCLEX RN, NCLEX PN, NBDHE, NBSTSA Surgical Technology Board Exam, Dental Hygiene and ARRT Radiography Board Exam. Registration is free; however, you MUST use your institutional email address (your MySCC login) for registration.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search Across Gale Databases.
StatRef This link opens in a new window
Stat!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of core full-text medical, pharmacology and nursing books. Access to 52 electronic medical textbooks as well as Stedman's Medical Dictionary and current articles, alerts and medical news for allied health, nursing, radiology, medical coding, psychiatry, dental, and emergency services. Includes cases for EMS student practice.

A few database items

Contrast Radiography in Small Intestinal Obstruction, a Valuable Diagnostic Tool?
Objective: To investigate the diagnostic and therapeutic potential of plain abdominal radiographs and contrast radiography in patients with suspected small intestinal obstruction.
Lung Cancer Screening with Sputum Cytologic Examination, Chest Radiography, and Computed Tomography: An Update for the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force
". . .Background: Lung cancer is the leading cause of cancer-related death in the United States and worldwide. No major professional organizations, including the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF), currently recommend screening for lung cancer. Purpose: To examine the evidence evaluating screening for lung cancer with chest radiography, sputum cytologic examination, and low-dose computed tomography (CT). . ."
Remote x-ray operator radiography: A case study in interprofessional rural clinical practice
". . .some radiographic examinations may be performed by rural and remote nurses and general practitioners (GPs), so called remote x-ray operators, where a radiographer is unavailable. This study aimed to investigate the experiences and perceptions of remote x-ray operator radiography from the perspective of rural radiographers. . ."

Getting Started

How to write a thesis statement
The thesis statement is the cornerstone of your paper.

How to avoid plagiarism (a guide for students)

How to take good notes in class and in research

Research and how to do it

Research Companion This link opens in a new window
Video tutorial: Learn how to create a research project.

The research process

Student guide: persuasion
Learn how to effectively argue your position in speeches, research papers, and debates.

6-step process for writing a research paper
This guide breaks down the process from choosing a topic to conducting research to writing your final paper.

Cite sources: how to
Give credit to the sources you found.

How to create a Works Cited page
Properly compile the list of all of the sources you used in your paper.

Research databases

Research Database, or Google?

Research databases are more focused than what you can find with an Internet search engine, and include the full text of many magazines, journals, and newspapers that are otherwise only available through paid subscriptions.
Google searches result in popular sources that are not necessarily peer-reviewed or scholarly (ie., not always suitable as a source for research).

What does "peer reviewed" mean?

A peer-reviewed journal is one that uses a system of reviewers who are the professional equals of the principal author of an article or book. Many academic journals utilize the peer review process. Several databases carry peer-reviewed journals and allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed titles.

"Scholarly":

Scholarly sources are written by subject experts for an audience of experts. They are not always peer-reviewed, but they are considered more credible than sources written by non-experts.

Databases provide:

citations
easy ways to save, print, or email items and links
test practice, learning opportunities, and study techniques
hints on items for further study or related topics

Finishing touches

LAC (Learning Assistance Center) at SCC: free tutoring

Online tutoring is provided to every student every semester.

Each SCC student is given 240 minutes of online tutoring per semester. Highly trained and qualified tutors help students to build skills, understand new material, and develop confidence as they pursue educational success.

Log in to your MySCC account. Access and use this free service by clicking on the “Tutoring” button in any Moodle course.

Writing Across the Curriculum at SCC: Student Resources
It’s a fact of life: college students write. No matter what year you graduated from high school, you’ll find that writing in college is a little different than writing in high school.
SCC Style Guide for Writing
The purpose of this style guide is to offer students and faculty members a place to easily access information about writing within an academic setting.