Holt Library: Faculty OER Toolbox: Open Access Resources

openNCCC
openNCCC is a library of open educational resources that promotes exploration, creation, and collaboration with the goal of enriching teaching and learning in North Carolina and around the world.

Open Access Resources are research materials have been made available to the general public, free of charge, electronically and with the rights to use the resources in an digital environment.. Examples include data and datasets, books and articles, including scholarly research articles. This is not the same thing as public domain works, or those items that have fallen out of copyright protection; open access authors have chosen to share freely, so anyone can use the works legally without permission or fees.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
Check the DOAJ's extensive list of open access journals. Although they can't guarantee that no publisher or journal on their lists is predatory, they attempt to include only high quality journals and publishers.
Google Arts Project This link opens in a new window
Website devoted to art includes art movements, artist profiles, collections and images related to art.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
More than 10 million free public domain books available for users to read and download or made free on request of the copyright owner, or copyright-free, e.g. US government documents.
Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized by academic & research libraies from around the world.
The Met Art Collection (OASC) This link opens in a new window
The Metropolitan Museum’s initiative—called Open Access for Scholarly Content (OASC)—provides access to images of art in its collection that the Museum believes to be in the public domain and free of other known restrictions; these images are now available for scholarly use in any media. Explore 490,000+ works of art from The Met's Collection.
PlosOne This link opens in a new window
An open access collection of original research articles from the natural sciences, medical research, engineering, as well as the related social sciences and humanities.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Provides free access to more than 33,000 (primarily older public domain) books which can be downloaded in a variety of formats including ePub, Kindle, HTML and plain text.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)