Holt Library: STEM/STEAM: Research

Getting Started

How to write a thesis statement
The thesis statement is the cornerstone of your paper.

How to avoid plagiarism (a guide for students)

How to take good notes in class and in research

Research databases

Research Database, or Google?

Research databases are more focused than what you can find with an Internet search engine, and include the full text of many magazines, journals, and newspapers that are otherwise only available through paid subscriptions.
Google searches result in popular sources that are not necessarily peer-reviewed or scholarly (ie., not always suitable as a source for research).

What does "peer reviewed" mean?

A peer-reviewed journal is one that uses a system of reviewers who are the professional equals of the principal author of an article or book. Many academic journals utilize the peer review process. Several databases carry peer-reviewed journals and allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed titles.

"Scholarly":

Scholarly sources are written by subject experts for an audience of experts. They are not always peer-reviewed, but they are considered more credible than sources written by non-experts.

Databases provide:

citations
easy ways to save, print, or email items and links
test practice, learning opportunities, and study techniques
hints on items for further study or related topics

The research process

Student guide: persuasion
Learn how to effectively argue your position in speeches, research papers, and debates.

6-step process for writing a research paper
This guide breaks down the process from choosing a topic to conducting research to writing your final paper.

Cite sources: how to
Give credit to the sources you found.

How to create a Works Cited page
Properly compile the list of all of the sources you used in your paper.

Peer review explained in 3 minutes

NCSU Libraries: Peer Review in 3 Minutes
How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication?

Research and how to do it

Research Companion This link opens in a new window
Video tutorial: Learn how to create a research project.

Some articles from our databases

An ethical assessment model for digital disease detection technologies by Denecke, K.
Publication Date: 2017
Digital epidemiology, also referred to as digital disease detection (DDD), successfully
provided methods and strategies for using information technology to support
infectious disease monitoring and surveillance or understand attitudes and concerns about infectious diseases.
What problem would you like to see scientists solve for the future of our society? ANSTO Big Ideas Forum lets students choose the questions by Teaching Science
Publication Date: 2017

Search particular databases

Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of scholarly journals, trade and industry journals,and more. Covers fields such as aeronautics and aerospace engineering, applied physics, artificial intelligence and robotics, communications and networks, computer applications and computer programming.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications in fields such as aquaculture, aquatic organisms, climatology, conservation, environmental quality, geology and fisheries.
Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
Provides engineering discipline coverage spanning thousands of publications, many in full text in topics like automotive design and engineering, construction materials, civil engineering structural engineering and more.

Finishing touches

LAC (Learning Assistance Center) at SCC: free tutoring

Online tutoring is provided to every student every semester.

Each SCC student is given 240 minutes of online tutoring per semester. Highly trained and qualified tutors help students to build skills, understand new material, and develop confidence as they pursue educational success.

Log in to your MySCC account. Access and use this free service by clicking on the “Tutoring” button in any Moodle course.

Writing Across the Curriculum at SCC: Student Resources
It’s a fact of life: college students write. No matter what year you graduated from high school, you’ll find that writing in college is a little different than writing in high school.
SCC Style Guide for Writing
The purpose of this style guide is to offer students and faculty members a place to easily access information about writing within an academic setting.

Request Research Appointment

Get Research Assistance

Need help knowing where to start your library research?

ask a Librarian for help at the Holt Library desk or
contact us to set up a one-on-one appointment.

Email: library@southwesterncc.edu
Phone: 828.339.4288