Holt Library: Sociology: Social Problems (220)

Free Cry Scream illustration and picture Social Problems (Sociology 220)

This course provides an in-depth study of current social problems. Emphasis is placed on causes, consequences, and possible solutions to problems associated with families, schools, workplaces, communities, and the environment. Upon completion, students should be able to recognize, define, analyze, and propose solutions to these problems.

Sociology Books

Social Symptoms of Identity Needs

Social Justice Issues and Racism in the College Classroom: Perspectives from Different Voices

How do faculty members include social justice issues related to race/ethnicity in their curricula? How are issues associated with race or ethnicity discussed in the classroom by students, as well as minority and nonminority faculty? What are the experiences of students of color in the classroom working with faculty of different races and ethnicities? Overall the book provides information to assist students and faculty of color with survival skills in complex environments. . .

Sociology Databases

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision making.
Census Data
The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Find population information, and data about Americans' health, economics, education and more.
CQ Researcher
Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Diversity Studies Database (Gale OneFile)
Collection of journals that explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community.
Pop Culture Studies Database (Gale OneFile)
Provide access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
The Innocence Project
The Innocence Network is a group of independent organizations that exonerate and support the innocent, and redress the causes of wrongful conviction.
Opposing Viewpoints
Supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts; presents all sides of important issues, and empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills.
Social Explorer
Visualization and data-mapping tool with hundreds of thousands of data indicators and across demography, economy, health, education, religion, crime and more. The Lecture Launchers section directs users to discipline specific data maps useful for research in History, Psychology, Sociology, Social Work, Economics, Education and more. For more information visit the Social Explorer online guide.
Social Sciences Online Journals
List of Social Sciences online full text journals available from Holt Library. Search by title or select a "Subject" link to view online journals in Psychology, Sociology, Social Work & Social Welfare.
Social Science Database
Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
UNICEF Reports
Economic and social statistics on the countries and territories of the world, with particular reference to children’s well-being.

Sociology

Ask a Librarian

Sociology Books

Social Symptoms of Identity Needs

Social Justice Issues and Racism in the College Classroom: Perspectives from Different Voices

Social Problems

Handbook of Social Problems : A Comparative International Perspective

Families, Violence and Social Change

Black Women's Christian Activism

The Dark Side of the Ivory Tower

Sociology Databases