About Us

LIBRARY FACILITY

SCC's Holt Library is located on the south end of Jackson campus in an 11,000 square foot building. To accommodate different learning styles, 110 seating spaces are arranged in study areas for collaborative study, quiet computer use, and silent study. Students and employees use their SCC photo ID card as a library card. Library checkouts can be routed to students at Macon and Swain centers by courier. The Library also provides services and library cards to local community residents age 16 and over with a driver’s license or NC ID card.

LIBRARY MISSION

The Mission of Holt Library is to provide an information commons for learning resources designed to support and implement the total instructional program of the College. Its chief aim is to contribute to the realization of the institution’s objectives by acquiring, organizing and circulating the books, periodicals, audiovisuals, and online resources and materials needed to support the instructional program; to provide a variety of learning and study options; to provide instruction in the use of resources; and to promote the cultural development of library users.

COLLECTIONS AND SERVICES

The Library building houses an academic collection of print-copy books, periodicals, and audiovisuals, plus a selection of online databases for 24/7 access to e-books, academic reference sources, peer reviewed journals, streaming videos, and more. Staff assistance is available in person, by phone, and via email. Study spaces include a networked computer lab with 18 workstations and wireless laptop access. Computer workstations offer the Microsoft Office suite and connection to a black-and-white printer. Instructors, student study groups, and community members may schedule the Conference/Instruction room, one group study room, or one individual study room. 

The book collection offers nearly 15,000 non-fiction volumes selected by faculty to support academic course offerings, along with a Fiction collection and a Young Adult collection. Audiovisual media include DVDs that may be used in the library and/or checked out. Faculty Reserves provide student access to course-specific supplementary materials such as books, DVDs, scientific study kits, and more.

ONLINE RESOURCES

To access Library resources online, students and SCC employees should login to the MySCC portal and click the Library tab. This password-protected Library portal provides complete access to all subscription-based research sources and information about Southwestern's Library services and resources.

ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOG

NCCCE (North Carolina Community Colleges Evergreen) is the shared online catalog of our local library and 24 community college libraries in NC. Users may access books and items in the local Library, or request books from other libraries by contacting Holt Library staff.  Holt Library receives NCCCE books by mail in about a week. Nationwide Interlibrary Loan service is also available by contacting Holt Library staff. Interlibrary loans are free for students and college employees.  

 All checked-out library materials must be returned or renewed by the due date.  All student library accounts must be cleared of overdue materials and fines before students can register, receive grades, graduate or receive a transcript.

ONLINE RESEARCH DATABASES:  NC LIVE and EBSCO provide access to full-text content and indexing for magazine articles, professional and business journals,  peer-reviewed scholarly publications streaming video, e-book reference sources, and much more.  Users on or off-campus: Log in to MySCC and choose the "Library" tab on the side of the page. Search for titles using the OneSearch bar, or choose a tab above the bar for other search options.
 

From the website: “NC LIVE offers free electronic access to resources for all ages on topics ranging from careers, business, and investing, to health, history, and genealogy. Ebooks, audiobooks, videos, magazines, newspapers, journals, language-learning tools, and other online materials available through NC LIVE are designed for at-home use, and are available from any internet connection via NC library websites.”

ONLINE LIBRARY HELP:  Chatstaff is an online reference chat service that connects students to a Librarian to provide answers, articles and more.

LIBRARY RESEARCH INSTRUCTION
Research assistance for individuals is available in person, by phone, by email, or via chat. Students may either walk in or make an appointment to meet with a library staff member for  individual face-to-face assistance.

Library research instruction is available to SCC classes, regardless of location or mode of delivery.  All SCC students receive basic library instruction through the required ACA class. Faculty members may request library instruction to either demonstrate basic research skills, or to highlight relevant database content for specific courses. Research workshops are taught in face-to-face classes by a Librarian who holds the MLS degree from an ALA-accredited Library Science program. The Librarian also travels to Macon and Swain centers to teach these workshops.  The same Librarian creates online workshops in Moodle, and all SCC students have a link to the basic research workshop in their Moodle account. The basic workshop discusses creation and use of the library user’s account, how to search for and request traditional library books in the online card catalog, and basic searching for digitized publications in at least one of the NC LIVE academic databases.