Holt Library: ENG 112 Writing & Research: Poetry Databases

General Poetry Databases and Criticism

Bloom's Literary Criticism Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of Harold Bloom's literary criticism series including Classic Critical Views, Bloom's Guide, Literary Themes, Modern Critical Interpretation, Modern Critical Views, Shakespeare Through the Ages and How to Write About Literature. Adobe Digital Edition required to download eBooks for offline reading.
Faber Poetry Library This link opens in a new window
Find poems written by modern poets such as Wendy Cope, T. S. Eliot, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Tom Paulin, Sylvia Plath, and more.
Literary Sources (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews. Designed with schools and public libraries in mind.

African-American Poetry This link opens in a new window
African-American poetry 1750-1900.
American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Find poems written from 1650-1920. Includes Anne Bradstreet, Emily Dickinson, Edgar Allan Poe, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman, and Herman Melville.
English Poetry This link opens in a new window
Find poems written from 600 to 1900 including Thomas Percy, Walter Scott, Robert Dodsley, Francis Turner Palgrave, and more.
Twentieth Century African-American Poetry This link opens in a new window
62 of the most important African-American poets of the last century: Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde, and Rita Dove.
Twentieth Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
A database of modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Presently includes 36,000 poems drawn from 460 volumes by 217 poets.
Twentieth Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window
Modernist poems (1900-1999): W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Wilfred Owen, Robert Graves, A.E. Housman, D.H. Lawrence, Carol Ann Duffy, and more.
Poetry Books in the Holt Library This link opens in a new window
See all the poetry books owned in print in the Holt Library