Holt Library: ENG 112 Writing & Research: Literary Analysis

Databases for Literary Criticism

Bloom's Literary Criticism Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of Harold Bloom's literary criticism series including Classic Critical Views, Bloom's Guide, Literary Themes, Modern Critical Interpretation, Modern Critical Views, Shakespeare Through the Ages and How to Write About Literature. Adobe Digital Edition required to download eBooks for offline reading.
Bloomsbury Collections This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks covering history and literary criticism including the series Daily Life; Critical Companions; Literature in Context. Also includes a large collection of American slave narratives:.American Slavery: A Composite Autobiog raphy.
Literary Sources (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews. Designed with schools and public libraries in mind.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

Helpful Links

Purdue OWL: Introduction to Literary Theory and Schools of Criticism
A very basic way of thinking about literary theory is that these ideas act as different lenses critics use to view and talk about art, literature, and even culture. These different lenses allow critics to consider works of art based on certain assumptions within that school of theory.

Lit Crit Books

Fiction 100

With this ninth edition Fiction 100 passes yet another milestone. The eighth edition celebrated the fact that the book had been in print for 25 years, a full quarter of a century, a fact that surprised no one more than it did the editor. With the ninth edition comes yet another realization: Fiction 100 has now been available to college students and their teachers in four decades: the 1970s, the 1980s, the 1990s, and the first decade of the new millennium.

The Best American Short Stories of the Century

Titles selected by John Updike from the 1915 through 1998 editions of The best American short stories series.

Returning to the Homeland

Cherokee poetry and short stories. ...deeply felt... moving... -- Wilma Dykeman.

The World to Come: Stories

Orange World and Other Stories

A stunning new collection of short fiction that showcases Karen Russell’s extraordinary, irresistible gifts of language and imagination.

Better Writing: Beyond Periods and Commas

Using casual language and a straightforward approach, Better Writing: Beyond Periods and Commas provides students with an easy-to-read and effective guide for developing their writing skills. Rather than intimidate and overwhelm novice writers with vast sets of rules, Travis Koll utilizes simple and relatable explanations and examples to demystify the writing process. Armed with this better understanding, one that reaches far beyond the mere mechanics of punctuation and grammar, students can begin to recognize the true nature and significance of writing, its potential impact on their readers, and the importance of their voices in their communities and the world.

Better Times

Winner of the Prairie Schooner Book Prize in Fiction, the stories in Better Times focus on what's happening in places people don't think to look. Women, sometimes displaced, often lonely, are at the heart of these stories.