Holt Library: ENG 112 Writing & Research: Career Paper

Career

When searching these databases, remember to select "peer reviewed" in order to return appropriate results for your assignment.

Career & Technical Education This link opens in a new window
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010-20 decade.
Occupational Outlook Handbook (en español) This link opens in a new window
Perfiles para cientos de ocupaciones incluyendo secciones como, ¿Qué Hacen?, Ambiente Laboral, Cómo Hacerse Uno, Salario, y más. Cada perfil también incluye proyecciones de empleo hechas por la Oficina de Estadísticas Laborales para la década 2010-20.
Pew Research Center This link opens in a new window
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science researc

Career Decision-Making Techniques
Benefits of conducting an informational interview
-Learn more about any industry or field while expanding your professional network at the same time
-Obtaining valuable information, advice and some interviewing practice
-Inform your decision making which includes choice of major, degree, internships, service efforts, and PEAK Five-Year Plan components
Career Services at SCC
The Career Services Center at SCC is an invaluable resource. Visit the "Big Interview" page (in the menu on the left side of the page) to sign up for access to a "Big Interview" account. Once logged in to the "Big Interview" software, click on the "Informational Interviews" module. This module will help you contact someone working in the field you are exploring. It includes interactive lessons and the ability to perform a practice informational interview.

Career One Stop This link opens in a new window
Using the Career One Stop Database, you can find out how to conduct "informational interviews". Informational interviews involve contacting people working within a specific field and speaking with them about their career journey. This information can be found by clicking on the "Job Search" drop down menu and moving your cursor to "Networking". Under the "Networking" link, you will see "Informational Interviews". This tab offers both an email example of how to contact employers and a good template for questions to ask during your informational interview.