Culinary Arts

An informative, illustrated guide to food, cooking, and the culinary profession by a former White House chef—now in a revised second edition featuring 50% new material “This book is all meat with no fat.... Sure to surprise and enlighten even the most informed gourmands.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, and timelines. For students and general readers.

Food Science and the Culinary Arts is a unique reference that incorporates the principles of food and beverage science with practical applications in food preparation. It provides a complete overview of the food science relevant to culinary students and professionals training to work in the food industry.

Freidberg takes six common foods from the refrigerator to discover what each has to say about our notions of freshness. Local livelihoods; global trade; the politics of taste, community, and environmental change: all enter into this lively, surprising, yet sobering tale about the nature and cost of our hunger for freshness.

This book covers not only science (physics, chemistry, biology) but also cultural aspects (tradition, history, emotion), of what food/cooking is all about. The authors take the role of someone trying to find interesting questions to ask about familiar, though often hidden, phenomena. Claims (or myths) on everyday cooking provide numerous cases for this.

This classic book contains a complete encyclopedia of ingredients, dishes and drinks compiled by Charles Herman Senn. For each item treated it provides a brief description, as well as details pertaining to origin, uses, preparation, and other information where applicable. This fantastic and timeless dictionary of culinary elements is perfect for cooking enthusiasts and would make for a handy addition to kitchen collections.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements--Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food--and anything you cook will be delicious.

Ai Hisano reveals how the food industry capitalized on color, fashioning a visual vocabulary that shapes what we think of the food we eat. Our perceptions of what food should look like have changed dramatically as scientists, farmers, food processors, regulators, and marketers established a new, and highly engineered, version of the "natural."

By showing that the creation of a meal is as satisfying as its consumption, Herve This recalibrates the balance between food and our imaginations.

Traces the evolution of cooking and explains why both home cooks and professional chefs should learn how to apply cooking science, arguing that we can improve the nutritional quality and gastronomic delight of everyday eating.

This extraordinary collection, a trove of enchanting designs, appealing colors, and forgotten motifs that stir the imagination, features an unprecedented assortment of ephemera, or paper collectibles, related to food. Packed with fascinating history, the volume is the first serious attempt to organize culinary ephemera into categories, making it useful for food lovers, collectors, designers, and curators alike. Much more than a catalog.

Eric Schlosser's exposé revealed how the fast food industry has altered the landscape of America, widened the gap between rich and poor, fueled an epidemic of obesity, and transformed food production throughout the world. The book changed the way millions of people think about what they eat and helped to launch today's food movement.

Hawaii has one of the richest culinary heritages in the United States. Its contemporary regional cuisine, known as "local food" by residents, is a truly amazing fusion of diverse culinary influences. A thoughtful, wide-ranging tour of Hawaii's farms and gardens, fish auctions and vegetable markets, fairs and carnivals, mom-and-pop stores and lunch wagons, to uncover the delightful complexities and incongruities in Hawaii's culinary history.

This book offers a new theory (that is, the inquisitive theory of culinary art) to go beyond the existing approaches in a novel way. If successful, this seminal project is to fundamentally change the way that we think about culinary art in relation to ingredients and techniques from the combined perspectives of the mind, nature, society, and culture, with enormous implications for the human future and what the author originally called its “post-human” fate. [from Description]

The tomato represents the best and worst of American cuisine: though the plastic-looking corporate tomato is the hallmark of industrial agriculture, the tomato's history also encompasses farmers'markets and home gardens. Garden Variety illuminates American culinary culture from 1800 to the present, challenging a simple story of mass-produced homogeneity and demonstrating the persistence of diverse food cultures throughout modern America.

These lively dishes promise to spark the imaginations and the meals of home cooks, seasoned or novice, and of food lovers everywhere. Gutierrez also provides a handy glossary, a section on how to navigate a Latin tienda and a guide to ingredient sources for vibrant dishes that meld Latin American and southern palates.