Early Childhood Education

Let children experience the learning power of play—together! Let's All Play provides all-new adventures that support children's social skill development through thoughtful group play, interaction, and conversation. These play experiences help children engage with each other and the world around them, all of which leads to rich learning.

This Little Book is packed with games for wet days, hall times, and just being together! It contains a collection of both familiar and brand new games for small and larger groups of children, all of which can be played using low cost and easily accessible resources.

The newest addition to the popular More Than . . . Series by authors Sally Moomaw and Brenda Hieronymus, More Than Letters contains dozens of engaging ideas for creating a literacy-rich classroom. The book explore how you can use big books, interactive charts, games, and manipulative materials to foster children's development in this domain.

This practical resource is brimming with exciting ideas and guidance for motivating children with autism and other communication difficulties. The clear, user-friendly format enables quick access to over 300 practical, fun-filled games and activities for developing your child's communication skills.

Nailing Jelly to the Wall is written for:
• early childhood consultants offering an objective, outside view of what is needed to improve a program
• mentors serving as a role model for others who are building a career in early childhood
• coaches helping others in the field of early childhood improve their skills and knowledge by providing resources, demonstrations and guidance
• program administrators working with their own staff to provide professional development and guidance

In this innovative guide, a children's librarian and a teacher team up to identify the best picture books for addressing specific areas of the curriculum. Filled with extension activities that provide countless teachable moments in the areas of math, science, music, drama, and art, this book also promotes a love of books in young readers.

An essential resource that all teachers will appreciate! Written by two experienced teachers, Preschool Classroom Management offers solutions and suggestions to help you tackle behavior issues in the classroom. Chapters include working with challenging behaviors, teaching alternative behaviors, building a caring community in the classroom, teacher tips and techniques, and dealing with daily routines and schedules.

Play, academics, and standards can work together with the right strategies and support from educators. Take an active role in child-directed play to guide learning. Become a strong advocate for saving play in early childhood education by empowering teachers to join play and standards, and learn how child-led, open-ended play addresses the seven domains and Common Core Standards. This book is full of research and resources that link academic learning and play experiences.

Provides an approach to preschool literacy based on the actual reading development and achivement of capable preschool readers who were never formally taught to read. Parent participation is one key to their success.

Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders are often unable to learn social skills from environmental cues and require direct teaching and lots of practice.This collection of social communication cues will enable parents and professionals to help children with social development difficulties navigate their social world and enjoy interacting with their peers.

It's never too early to read to a child, especially when you have Story S-t-r-e-t-c-h-e-r-s! The youngest children love the repetition of words and experiences that stories provide. Story S-t-r-e-t-c-h-e-r-s contains 80 age-appropriate children's books and 240 ways to s-t-r-e-t-c-h the stories in new ways to enhance the learning process.

In this book, early childcare professionals will gain an understanding of the theories of attachment as well as the background and research of the prominent minds behind them. This book explains the core elements of each theorist's work and the ways these elements impact and support interactions with babies, including the topics of bonding, feeding practices, separation anxiety, and stranger anxiety.

What's your plan? If you're not sure, this great big book has the answer! With 52 weekly plans, it's easy to come up with appropriate learning experiences that children will love. This essential classroom resource covers special holidays, seasonal topics, everyday plans.

Children’s picturebooks are the very first books we encounter, and they form an important, constantly evolving, and dynamic sector of the publishing world. But what does it take to create a successful picturebook for children? In seven chapters, this book covers the key stages of conceiving a narrative, creating a visual language, and developing storyboards and design of a picturebook.

Digital Decisions provides everything you need to make your own technology plan based on your experiences and beliefs, the needs of the children, the context of your curriculum and the resources available to you. This no-nonsense, jargon-free guide will help you evaluate the tools and opportunities technology has to offer and integrate them into your early childhood classroom so you can offer real-life, hands-on, interactive activities to children.

With the increase in both parents working outside the home during the last two decades, infants and toddlers are spending more time together in infant/toddler programs and family child-care homes. From Biting to Hugging will give you effective strategies to help you take advantage of this peer time.

The influence of science, politics, money, and culture on psychiatric diagnosis and treatment in America.

'Teachers of young children will feel validated by this book that explains the issues underlying behaviors that challenge us on a daily basis and shows how to address them effectively.'-Xiomara Sánchez, NBCT, Dual Language Pre-K Teacher, Darwin Elementary School, Chicago, IL'Covers the breadth of children′s behaviors that teachers are likely to see, and describes the major motivators for them very well. The examples and scenarios are highly interesting, meaningful, and transferable to classroom practice.'-Gail Hardesty, Early Reading First Mentor, Chicago Public Schools, IL

Ainsworth provided attachment theory with both the empirical data and the psychological scales and methods for validating Bowlby's hypotheses of attachment theory. She also further refined attachment theory with concepts such as mother as secure base and organizations of attachment.

Jean Piaget's theory of cognitive development had a profound influence on psychology, especially the understanding of children's intellectual growth. His research contributed to the growth of developmental psychology, cognitive psychology, genetic epistemology, and education reform.