Skip to main content

Holt Library

Home: Welcome

OneSearch

OneSearchBooks

My Account Login

Login to "My Account"  using your Library barcode (located on the back of your ID card) and your PIN (the last four digits of your SCC ID). You can view and renew your books and track your holds and fines. For help, call us at  828-339-4288.

Westlaw gives you access to a large collection of legal information, you can access legal resources such as Cases,
Statutes and regulations, public records, and briefs as well as secondary legal sources such as law journals and news sources.

SCC Banner

Search or Browse Online Journals

Holt Library Summer Delivery Program

Library Summer Delivery

Summer

 

 

 

 

 

Holt Library will offer summer home delivery of Holt Library owned books and DVDs to SCC students, instructors and staff. Delivery will include a pre-paid return label for sending items back. To request items, please use the Holt Library Summer Delivery Form.

Library Resources for Online Learning

Primal Pictures Anatomy TV

Primal Pictures 3D Anatomy & Physiology

Covers a full range of interactive and accurate 3D models of human anatomy online, with specialized resources on various clinical areas and body systems. Need help using this resource? Check out the free tutorials online.

Internet Archvie Logo

Internet Archive (Ebooks, and More)

To address our unprecedented global and immediate need for access to reading and research materials, the Internet Archive will suspend wait lists for the 1.4 million (and growing) ebooks in our lending library by creating a National Emergency Library to serve the nation's displaced learners.

Coronavirus

COVID-19 Coronavirus 2020

Information on COVID-19, using the library resources from home, latest updates, tips for parents, and educational and fun resources for young adults.

Films on Demand Logo

Films on Demand Video Collection

Thousands of high-quality videos and documentaries: PBS, Ken Burns documentaries, Masterpiece Theater, Scientific American, American Experience. Enjoy them at home.

Wiley Logo

Wiley Online Library

Wiley Online Library gives you access to about 1500 journals from a broad multidisciplinary collection of online articles covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Chronicle of Higher Education Logo

Chronicle of Higher Education

The nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities.

 

Testing & Education Research Center

TERC

Testing & Education Reference Center  includes standardized test and entrance exam preparation and professional career tests like the NCLEX.

Study Group Coming Up?

Student with LaptopReserve a room for individual or group study session at Holt Library!

--Email library@southwesterncc.edu

--call 828.339.4288

--stop by the front desk

Macon and Swain Campuses

We can deliver Holt library materials or materials borrowed from another library to Macon or Swain campuses.

  • You will need to establish a Holt Library account to check out print items. Activate your card online here.
  • Fill out the Interlibrary Loan form.
  • Please allow for delivery time of 2-3 days for Holt Library Items and 1 week-10 Days for non-Holt Library items.
  • You will pick up and return items to your campus receptionist.

Macon and Swain campuses: ACCESSING LIBRARY DATABASES ONLINE 24/7

  • Log in to MySCC.
  • Choose the "Library" tab at the top of the page.
  • Search!

It is important to log in for seamless access to articles, e-books, journals and magazines online, and streaming videos from ALL of Holt Library's databases.

For collections of resources: select the tab for LIBRARY RESEARCH GUIDES.

Hours

COVID-19 Holt Library Service Updates for Summer 2020

Due to the pandemic, for summer 2020, Holt Library will be open to SCC students, staff and instructors only.

 

Holt Library Summer Hours

Contact an SCC Library staff member during regular hours of operation:

Monday - Thursday:  8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
 

Online resources are available 24/7 with MySCC login -->"Library" tab.

library@southwesterncc.edu
828-339-4288 or 800-447-4091, ext. 4288
Library Chat is available 24/7 M-F

 

For changes to operating hours due to holidays or inclement weather, see the SCC web page at www.southwesterncc.edu.

Welcome to Holt Library

Request Research Appointment

Get Research Assistance 

Need help knowing where to start your library research? You can always ask a Librarian for help at the Holt Library desk or contact us to set up a one-on-one appointment. 

Email: library@southwesterncc.edu
Phone: 828.339.4288

Library Card

Activating your SCC Student ID Card for Library Checkout

You do not need your SCC Student ID Card to use the library’s online databases and e-books. Just login to MySCC/Library and choose databases to search for articles, e-books and other online materials. However, activating your SCC student ID card for Library checkout enables you to check out physical items from the library.

  • Get a SCC Student ID Card from the Cashier's Office in the Balsam Building on the Jackson campus or call them at: 828-339-4290.
     
  • Activate your SCC Student ID Card with us by filling out the registration form at the front desk of Holt Library or complete the Library Card Activation form online and we will send you a confirmation email when the activation is complete.
     
  • Students may check out up to 8 items at a time. Books check out for 4 weeks. DVDs check out for 1 week. Contact us to renew items 828-339-4288 or library@southwesterncc.edu

New & Noteworthy Ebooks

Pop City Bookcover

Pop City : Korean Popular Culture and the Selling of Place

Examines the use of Korean television dramas and K-pop music to promote political decentralization and the globalization of Korean popular culture.

Abuses of the Erotic Bookcover

Abuses of the Erotic: Militarizing Sexuality in the Post-Cold War United States

Offers a comprehensive picture of how military values have permeated the civilian cultural sphere and the connection between sexuality and militarism in the United States.

Stirrings Bookcover

Stirrings: How Activist New Yorkers Ignited a Movement for Food Justice

In the last three decades of the twentieth century hunger has reached levels unseen since the Depression and New Yorkers respond by setting the stage for a nationwide food justice movement.

Contemporary Comics Storytelling Bookcover

Contemporary Comics Storytelling

Traces how contemporary comics tie into deep traditions of visual and verbal storytelling, and how the fictional minds of their characters generate complex ethical thought experiments.

Lethal State Bookcvoer

Lethal State : A History of the Death Penalty in North Carolina

Recounts the history of the death penalty in North Carolina, as the state sought to remake its image as modern and business-progressive in the early twentieth century.

Learning How to Hope Bookcover

Learning How to Hope: Reviving Democracy through our Schools and Civil Society

This book seeks to revive democracy by teaching citizens how to hope in the face of struggling democracy and cynicism.

Protecting Animals Bookcover

Protecting Animals Within and Across Borders: Extraterritorial Jurisdiction and the Challenges of Globalization

Aimed at understanding and resolving the global problems that challenge the core of animal rights laws.

The Science of College Bookcover

The Science of College: Navigating the First Year and Beyond

Aids entering college students in navigating college successfully by offering readers practical tips and guidance based on real student accounts, sound social science research, and the collective experiences of faculty, and staff.

Sovereign Entrepreneurs

Sovereign Entrepreneurs: Cherokee Small-Business Owners and the Making of Economic Sovereignty

This rich ethnographic study reveals the critical roles small businesses such as these play for Indigenous nations.

Clues to Lower Mississippi Valley Histories: Language, Archaeology, and Ethnography

Examines the relationship between linguistics and archeology to elucidate the early history of the Lower Mississippi Valley, the heartland of early North American civilizations.

Feeding Cahokia

Feeding Cahokia : Early Agriculture in the North American Heartland

Presents evidence to demonstrate that farming at Cahokia was biologically diverse and, less prone to risk than was maize-dominated agriculture and examines the social order of Cahokia society in a new light.

On the Freedom Side Bookcover

On the Freedom Side: How Five Decades of Youth Activists Have Remixed American History

Documents and assesses young people's interventions in the American fight for democracy and its ideals.

The Presidential Fringe Bookcover

The Presidential Fringe: Questing and Jesting for the Oval Office

This offbeat slice of American history places the story of our great republic beneath an unexpected lens: that of fringe candidates for president of the United States.

Ask a Librarian

Chat loading...

All New Books 2019-2020