Holt Library: Business Administration: Research

Search Library Resources

OneSearch

Article Databases
Browse a list of hundreds of article databases by title or subject.
E-books Collections
Find E-Book collections by subject.
E-Book Downloading
Learn to download e-books onto a PC or mobile device.
Off-Campus Access
Access our resources from home. Troubleshooting off-campus issues.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon

Search the Holt Library Catalog

Request Materials
Request books or articles not owned by Holt Library.
Suggest a Purchase
Use this form to suggest a title for purchase.
Renew Books
Renew books you have checked out.
Search NC Evergreen Libraries
Search and request books from all NC Evergreen Community College Libraries.

Browse Journals
Search for Journals, Magazines and Newspapers by title or subject.
Request Materials
Request books or articles not owned by Holt Library.
Google Scholar Setup
Directions to setup linking to SCC Library articles from Google Scholar
Citation Guides
APA, MLA and Chicago Style Citation help information.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon

Search Media Clips in OneSearch

Streaming Films for Faculty
Search thousands of streaming online films and find help resources for using them in your course.
Streaming Videos for Students
A-Z list of library video resources.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon

Find background information for a topic by searching CREDO Online Reference Encyclopedia.

Library Account & Book Checkout

SCC student ID card or other proof of identity is required to borrow materials from the library
Obtain your SCC ID card at Orientation or on the Jackson Campus at the Cashier's office, Balsam 170 or at the Cecil Groves Center on the Macon campus. Online and Swain Center students contact Toni Holland at tholland@southwesterncc.edu.
Non-students may register an account and get a library card using this online form
Book checkout period is 4 weeks and students and faculty may renew items one time.
Lost or damaged books will be billed at the cost of replacement and must be paid at the Business Office on the Jackson Campus.
Email us at library@southwesterncc.edu if we can find items for you

Search Worldcat

Catalog of books and other materials in libraries around the world. Find a book you want, Request It.

Research databases

Research Database, or Google?

Research databases are more focused than what you can find with an Internet search engine, and include the full text of many magazines, journals, and newspapers that are otherwise only available through paid subscriptions.
Google searches result in popular sources that are not necessarily peer-reviewed or scholarly (ie., not always suitable as a source for research).

What does "peer reviewed" mean?

A peer-reviewed journal is one that uses a system of reviewers who are the professional equals of the principal author of an article or book. Many academic journals utilize the peer review process. Several databases carry peer-reviewed journals and allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed titles.

"Scholarly":

Scholarly sources are written by subject experts for an audience of experts. They are not always peer-reviewed, but they are considered more credible than sources written by non-experts.

Databases provide:

citations
easy ways to save, print, or email items and links
test practice, learning opportunities, and study techniques
hints on items for further study or related topics

Or, search individual databases in your field:

ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
Accounting, Tax, and Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, reference reports, proceedings, and dissertations covering current news and topics...trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues.
Business Link North Carolina This link opens in a new window
Programs and resources for people starting a new business or moving a business to North Carolina
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analytica, and Snapshots.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Articles spanning Canadian agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more, including scholarly content.
Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.
Continental Europe Database This link opens in a new window
Ongoing, full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many European countries.
Entrepreneurship Database This link opens in a new window
Information for entrepreneurs and researchers that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including: The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Morningstar Investing Center This link opens in a new window
Research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and hundreds of ETFs.
NAICS Code Lookup and Descriptions This link opens in a new window
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
NAICS Code Lookup and Descriptions This link opens in a new window
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Office of the State Demographer This link opens in a new window
Provides state, county, and municipal population estimates and projections by year, age, race, and sex.
Regional Accounts Data: Local Area Personal Income This link opens in a new window
Personal income and population summary estimates, detailed county annual tables of income and employment as well as wage and salary summary estimates.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Visualization and data-mapping tool with hundreds of thousands of data indicators and across demography, economy, health, education, religion, crime and more. The Lecture Launchers section directs users to discipline specific data maps useful for research in History, Psychology, Sociology, Social Work, Economics, Education and more. For more information visit the Social Explorer online guide.
Tax Forms via the North Carolina Department of Revenue This link opens in a new window
Downloadable versions of current NC individual and corporate income, franchise, sales, and withholding tax forms
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to about 1500 journals from a broad multidisciplinary collection of online articles covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. If there is no "unlocked" icon visible on an article, the article/book chapter is not included in our subscription. Contact a Librarian for additional options.

Research and how to do it

Research Companion This link opens in a new window
Video tutorial: Learn how to create a research project.

Peer review explained in 3 minutes

NCSU Libraries: Peer Review in 3 Minutes
How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication?