Skip to Main Content
chat now!

Entrepreneurship

Provides students with the fundamental knowledge of business functions, processes, and an understanding of business organizations in today's global economy.

Search Library Resources

OneSearch

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon

Search the Holt Library Catalog

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon

Search Media Clips in OneSearch

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon

Credo Logo

Find background information for a topic by searching CREDO Online Reference Encyclopedia.


Library Card & Book Checkout

Photo of SCC Student ID card with barcode on the back of the card

  • Your SCC ID card serves as your library card, however you must register with the library before checking out.
  • Obtain your SCC ID card at Orientation or on the Jackson Campus at the Cashier's office, Balsam 170 or at the Cecil Groves Center on the Macon campus. Online and Swain Center students contact Toni Holland at tholland@southwesterncc.edu.
  • Activate your SCC ID card with us at Holt Library using this online form
  • You can also visit in person and register
  • Book checkout period is 4 weeks and students and faculty may renew items up to 2 times. 
  • Lost or damaged books will be billed at the cost of replacement and must be paid at the Business Office on the Jackson Campus.
  • Email us at library@southwesterncc.edu if we can find items for you

Research databases

Research Database, or Google?

  •  Research databases are more focused than what you can find with an Internet search engine, and include the full text of many magazines, journals, and newspapers that are otherwise only available through paid subscriptions.
  • Google searches result in popular sources that are not necessarily peer-reviewed or scholarly (ie., not always  suitable as a source for research). 

What does "peer reviewed" mean?

A peer-reviewed journal is one that uses a system of reviewers who are the professional equals of the principal author of an article or book. Many academic journals utilize the peer review process. Several databases carry peer-reviewed journals and allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed titles.

"Scholarly":

Scholarly sources are written by subject experts for an audience of experts. They are not always peer-reviewed, but they are considered more credible than sources written by non-experts.

 Databases provide:

  • citations
  • easy ways to save, print, or email items and links
  • test practice, learning opportunities, and study techniques
  • hints on items for further study or related topics

 

 

Or, search individual databases in your field:

Research and how to do it

Peer review explained in 3 minutes