Holt Library: Psychology: Finding Articles

Search Library Resources

OneSearch

Article Databases
Browse a list of hundreds of article databases by title or subject.
E-books Collections
Find E-Book collections by subject.
E-Book Downloading
Learn to download e-books onto a PC or mobile device.
Off-Campus Access
Access our resources from home. Troubleshooting off-campus issues.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon CC BY-3.0 Attribution License

Search the Holt Library Catalog

Request Materials
Request books or articles not owned by Holt Library.
Suggest a Purchase
Use this form to suggest a title for purchase.
Renew Books
Renew books you have checked out.
Search NC Evergreen Libraries
Search and request books from all NC Evergreen Community College Libraries.

Browse Journals
Search for Journals, Magazines and Newspapers by title or subject.
Request Materials
Request books or articles not owned by Holt Library.
Google Scholar Setup
Directions to setup linking to SCC Library articles from Google Scholar
Citation Guides
APA, MLA and Chicago Style Citation help information.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon CC BY-3.0 Attribution License

Search Media Clips in OneSearch

Streaming Films for Faculty
Search thousands of streaming online films and find help resources for using them in your course.
Streaming Videos for Students
A-Z list of library video resources.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon CC BY-3.0 Attribution License

Find background information for a topic by searching CREDO Online Reference Encyclopedia.

Library Account & Book Checkout

SCC student ID card or other proof of identity is required to borrow materials from the library
Obtain your SCC ID card at Orientation or on the Jackson Campus at the Cashier's office, Balsam 170 or at the Cecil Groves Center on the Macon campus. Online and Swain Center students contact Toni Holland at tholland@southwesterncc.edu.
Non-students may register an account and get a library card using this online form
Book checkout period is 4 weeks and students and faculty may renew items one time.
Lost or damaged books will be billed at the cost of replacement and must be paid at the Business Office on the Jackson Campus.
Email us at library@southwesterncc.edu if we can find items for you

Search Worldcat

Catalog of books and other materials in libraries around the world. Find a book you want, Request It.

E-Book Downloading
Learn to download e-books onto a PC or mobile device.
Google Scholar Setup
Directions to setup linking to SCC Library articles from Google Scholar
Library Video Tutorials
Video tutorials covering research, citing, and finding books & articles.
Citation Guides
APA, MLA and Chicago Style Citation help information.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon CC BY-3.0 Attribution License

Primary Sources in Psychology

Primary sources in psychology are empirical (report research through observable testing), often published in journals, and usually include standardized sections (Abstract, Introduction, Methods, Results, Discussion, References).

PRIMARY SOURCES INCLUDE SCHOARLY ARTICLES THAT INCLUDE ORIGINAL RESEARCH OR EXPERIMENTS. THEY INCLUDE DIRECT EVIDENCE.

SECONDARY RESEARCH ARTICLES SUAMMRIZE, ANALYZE OR SYNTHESIZE INFORMATION AND PROVIDE INDIRECT EVIDENCE.

Library Databases

Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Wiley Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window
List of full text Psychology scholarly journals from Wiley Library Online. If there is no "unlocked" icon visible on an article, the article/book chapter is not included in our subscription. Contact a Librarian for additional options.
Cogprints This link opens in a new window
An electronic archive for self-archiving papers in any area of psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, and many areas of computer science.
PsyArXiv Preprints This link opens in a new window
A free non-peer reviewed article preprint service for the psychological sciences, maintained by The Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science. a A preprint is a full draft research paper that is shared publicly before it has been peer reviewed.
Free Medical Journals-Psychology This link opens in a new window
Open Access psychology and psychiatry journals available online, free and in full-text.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals.
PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window
Clinical Queries are search tools designed to retrieve targeted results to clinical questions and includes Clinical Study Categories and Systematic Reviews.