Holt Library: Psychology: E-books

Search Library Resources

OneSearch

Article Databases
Browse a list of hundreds of article databases by title or subject.
E-books Collections
Find E-Book collections by subject.
E-Book Downloading
Learn to download e-books onto a PC or mobile device.
Off-Campus Access
Access our resources from home. Troubleshooting off-campus issues.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon

Search the Holt Library Catalog

Request Materials
Request books or articles not owned by Holt Library.
Suggest a Purchase
Use this form to suggest a title for purchase.
Renew Books
Renew books you have checked out.
Search NC Evergreen Libraries
Search and request books from all NC Evergreen Community College Libraries.

Browse Journals
Search for Journals, Magazines and Newspapers by title or subject.
Request Materials
Request books or articles not owned by Holt Library.
Google Scholar Setup
Directions to setup linking to SCC Library articles from Google Scholar
Citation Guides
APA, MLA and Chicago Style Citation help information.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon

Search Media Clips in OneSearch

Streaming Films for Faculty
Search thousands of streaming online films and find help resources for using them in your course.
Streaming Videos for Students
A-Z list of library video resources.

Icons created by Freepik - Flaticon

Find background information for a topic by searching CREDO Online Reference Encyclopedia.

Library Account & Book Checkout

SCC student ID card or other proof of identity is required to borrow materials from the library
Obtain your SCC ID card at Orientation or on the Jackson Campus at the Cashier's office, Balsam 170 or at the Cecil Groves Center on the Macon campus. Online and Swain Center students contact Toni Holland at tholland@southwesterncc.edu.
Non-students may register an account and get a library card using this online form
Book checkout period is 4 weeks and students and faculty may renew items one time.
Lost or damaged books will be billed at the cost of replacement and must be paid at the Business Office on the Jackson Campus.
Email us at library@southwesterncc.edu if we can find items for you

Search Worldcat

Catalog of books and other materials in libraries around the world. Find a book you want, Request It.

StatRef! Online eTextbooks

StatRef This link opens in a new window
Stat!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of core full-text medical, pharmacology and nursing books. Access to 52 electronic medical textbooks as well as Stedman's Medical Dictionary and current articles, alerts and medical news for allied health, nursing, radiology, medical coding, psychiatry, dental, and emergency services. Includes cases for EMS student practice.

E-books

Causes and Consequences of Feelings by Leonard Berkowitz; Antony Manstead (Contribution by); Keith Oatley (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780521633253
Publication Date: 2000-05-22
Starting with studies that identify the dimensions along which affective experience can be located, it considers whether good and bad feelings are opposite ends of a bipolar continuum or are independent dimensions. It then looks at the many conditions that can determine whether an experience is felt as pleasant or unpleasant and examines how feelings can influence thought, memory, and action. For example, the author shows how the associative perspective accounts for mood effects on memory and why creativity is often enhanced by positive feelings. He also discusses how emotion arousal can affect the accuracy of eyewitness testimony and how good is the evidence that unusually hot weather might promote violent crimes.
Encyclopedia of Creativity: Two-Volume Set : Online Version by Steven R. Pritzker (Editor-In-Chief); Mark A. Runco (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780123750389
Publication Date: 2011-05-20
Now completely updated and revised in its second edition, coverage encompasses the definition of creativity, the development and expression of creativity across the lifespan, the environmental conditions that encourage or discourage creativity, creativity within specific disciplines like music, dance, film, art, literature, etc., the relationship of creativity and mental health, intelligence, and learning styles, and the process of being creative.
Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance by Angela Duckworth
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781501111112
Publication Date: 2018-08-21
In this instant New York Times bestseller, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth shows anyone striving to succeed--be it parents, students, educators, athletes, or business people--that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent but a special blend of passion and persistence she calls "grit."
Insane: America's Criminal Treatment of Mental Illness by Roth, Alisa
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 465094201
Publication Date: 2018
In America, having a mental illness has become a crime. One in four fatal police shootings involves a person with mental illness. The country's three largest providers of mental health care are not hospitals, but jails. As many as half the people in US jails and prisons have a psychiatric disorder. In Insane, journalist Alisa Roth goes deep inside the criminal justice system to reveal how America's tough-on-crime policies have transformed it into a warehouse for people with mental illness, one where prisoners are denied proper treatment, abused, and punished in ways that make them sicker.
The Last Normal Child: Essays on the Intersection of Kids, Culture, and Psychiatric Drugs (Ebook) by Lawrence H. Diller
Call Number: RM 315 .D5522 2006
ISBN: 9780275990961
Publication Date: 2006-08-30
The influence of science, politics, money, and culture on psychiatric diagnosis and treatment in America.
Mental Health Disorders on Television: Representation Versus Reality by Kimberley McMahon-Coleman
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781476672151
Publication Date: 2020-05-21
In past decades portrayals of mental illness on television were limited to psychotic criminals or comical sidekicks. As public awareness of mental illness has increased so too have its depictions on the small screen. A gradual transition from stereotypes towards more nuanced representations has seen a wide range of lead characters with mental health disorders, including schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, OCD, autism spectrum disorder, dissociative identity disorder, anxiety, depression and PTSD. But what are these portrayals saying about mental health and how closely do they align with real-life experiences?
The Oxford Handbook of Culture and Psychology by Jaan Valsiner
Publication Date: 2012
Linking psychology, anthropology, sociology, archaeology, and history, The Oxford Handbook of Culture and Psychology is the quintessential volume that unites the variable perspectives from these disciplines.Comprised of over fifty contributed chapters, this book provides a necessary, comprehensive overview of contemporary cultural psychology.
The Science of Well-Being: The Collected Works of Ed Diener by Ed Diener (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9789048123490
Publication Date: 2009-06-09
Presents an introduction and in-depth discussion of the major scientific findings and theories of subjective well-being.